Borrowing materials is limited to holders of a valid OSU identification (ID) card, an OSU Libraries Courtesy Card, or a valid ID from any other OhioLINK institution.
You are responsible for all materials borrowed. Please check your Library Account periodically to prevent late fees. The libraries send email notices as a courtesy to patrons to aid you in keeping track of all your transactions and to renew items. In order to avoid fines, please return or renew your materials on time. Items cannot be renewed if they have been recalled, are non-renewable, or if you have received a bill for them.
OSU Loan Rules:
- Students 6 Weeks (Unlimited Renewals)
- Faculty/Staff 17 Weeks (Unlimited Renewals)
- A/V Items 1 Week (No Renewals)
- Students/Faculty/Staff Loan periods and renewals depends on item status: 2 hours; 1 Day; 3 Days; 1 Week Click for more details
OhioLINK Loan Rules:
- Students 3 Weeks (6 Renewals)
- Faculty/Staff 6 Weeks (6 Renewals)
SearchOhio Loan Rules:
- Students 3 Weeks (3 Renewals)
- Faculty/Staff 3 Weeks (3 Renewals)
- A/V Items 1 Week (3 Renewals)
Unless requested by another patron, OSU owned books can be renewed indefinitely and OhioLINK books can be renewed 4 times. You may renew materials online, by phone, or at the desk. A $10.00, per day, fine is charged if you do not return materials that someone else has requested. No overdue fines are charged on materials not requested by someone else. However, if you do not respond to overdue notices, the item will be declared lost and billed and you will be charged to replace the item. Fines are charged on overdue reserve materials ($2.00 for the hour, $5.00 per hour thereafter). Failure to return materials and pay fines will result in a hold being placed on your records.
Unlike OSU, OhioLINK and SearchOhio overdue fines are charged at the rate of $.50 per day whether the item has been recalled or not. OhioLINK items are assumed lost if overdue more than 30 days. A $50.00 fine will be charged for items that are assumed lost and then returned. SearchOhio items lost will be billed $25.00 if more than 30 days overdue. Fines may be paid at Fees and Deposits.
For a more details, please see Ohio State University Libraries Circulation Services